Spittal School’s Support for Carew Cheriton Control Tower

Recently (26th Oct) pupils of Spittal VC School held a very successful tea party to raise money for the Carew Cheriton Control Tower Museum.

Earlier in the term the school’s Class 6, formed of year 5 and 6 pupils, had visited the Control Tower as part of  their  studies on World War 2 themed topics and had been enthralled by the exhibits and the realism created within the museum.

‘Those two hours at the museum were worth a dozen in the classroom,’ said Miss Griffiths, the class teacher. ‘The enthusiasm and friendliness of the volunteer staff was wonderful and we were delighted when a group of them accepted an invitation to our Tea Party.’

Tea was served to a School hall filled with guests, parents and friends and an abundance of cakes and sandwiches while Class 6 pupils, dressed in the style of the 40’s, entertained with a medley of popular wartime songs that had everyone singing.

Afterwards everyone was invited to view the pupils’ World War 2 themed projects such as coded computer games, war games, board games and small scale models that were displayed around the room.

At the conclusion Mr John Brock of the Carew Cheriton team thanked everyone for their efforts. As a ninety year old, he said how delightful it was to be able to communicate his and the other volunteers’ experiences to such a such a young and attentive audience. He spoke of a special bond developed with the Spittal pupils and extended a warm welcome to the museum for any party from the village. In appreciation of their efforts he presented to the school a Print of an operational Carew Airfield.

Miss Griffiths thanked the school staff, parents and children for all their efforts and later it was announced that the Tea Party had raised the sum of £277 for donation to the museum.

Spittal School's support for Carew Cheriton Control Tower
Back row: Jessica Griffiths (Class Teacher), Keith Hamer, Margaret Fieldhouse, Brenda Waters, Brian Harwood, Pat Gibby, John Harris, John Brock
Front row: Nia Brooks, Heidi Bellamy, Pippa Owen, Finn Macare, Riley Thomas, Jenifer Rees and Molly Lewis.